Family room, Homegoods, and the holidays

It’s Monday! I love Mondays! I love the idea of being able to start a completely fresh and brand new week. Nothing like a clean slate to encourage productivity!

So…our family room looks pretty much the same as the last time I posted about it, but that’s about to change. It’s time to pick out a rug option now that samples have come in.

2013-11-19 12.53.43They are all seagrass, but the weaves are different. I like the bottom left weave best. I’m kind of worried about making a huge decision like this because the rug will be custom cut–meaning no chance to return it if I don’t like it. If for whatever reason I end up hating my choice, I’m stuck with it.

Mainly, I’m just worried about comfort, but I’ve done my research and it should be okay. I also ordered some wool/sisal blend samples. They are much softer because of the wool, but they are kind of ugly and definitely don’t have the impact I was looking for in a natural rug.

After I order the rug, everything else should fall into place. Next big thing is the sofa. I’m pretty much set on the sectional from Crate and Barrel, but I plan on looking around locally to see if I can find something similar as I really don’t want to pay an arm and a leg on shipping.

In other news, we finally got a Homegoods!!!!!!!

(Yes, we’re very behind down here)

This makes me very excited. I’ve been been forced to live vicariously through other bloggers as they scored amazing deals at this wonderful store, and now I can score the deals myself! I went on Friday around noon and the place was packed. I wasn’t in there long, but I did manage to pick up a few things.

2013-11-21 13.29.44

I’ve been obsessed with buying Christmas wrapping paper–this faux bois paper is so pretty!

And speaking of Christmas related things, on Friday these babies came home with me too (not from Homegoods):

2013-11-21 16.09.10

2013-11-21 16.46.52

They’re perfect for the holidays!

My dining room is kind of blah (see the plain white walls with nothing hanging on them?), but it’ll be getting a makeover early next year after the family room is finished in the form of grasscloth wallpaper.

Happy Monday and stay warm!

One thought on “Family room, Homegoods, and the holidays

  1. Playing catch up with your posts… LOVE all the gold wrapping paper, love grasscloth wallpaper as I have it in 2 rooms… and you saw my rug. All so pretty and so classically festive!

Leave a Reply

